The Ashes, 2023 5 Tests . Jun 16 – Jul 31

The upcoming 2023 Ashes series, officially known as the LV= Insurance Ashes Series, is set to be played between England and Australia in June and July. The series will consist of Test cricket matches and will be hosted at five venues: Edgbaston, Lord’s, Headingley, Old Trafford, and The Oval. Australia holds the Ashes title after winning the previous series 4-0. This series will be part of the 2023-2025 ICC World Test Championship.

The 2023 Ashes series will be the 73rd overall and the 37th in England. Notably, this will be the first time in the history of the Ashes, spanning 139 years, that no Test match will be held in August during an Ashes series hosted by England. The series is scheduled to run from June 16th to July 31st, 2023. England will host the series, marking the 37th time they have hosted the Ashes.

In the previous Ashes series held in 2019, both teams won two matches each, and one match ended in a draw, resulting in a tied series. Therefore, Australia, having won the 2017 Ashes, is the defending champion. The first match of the 2023 Ashes series will take place from June 16th to 20th at Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham. The second test will be held at Lord’s in London. The third test will be played at Headingley Cricket Ground in Leeds from July 6th to 10th. Old Trafford Cricket Ground will host the fourth test in Manchester from July 19th to 23rd. The final match of the Ashes series will be held at The Oval in London from July 27th to 31st.

Pat Cummins will captain the Australian side in the Ashes 2023 series, while England has yet to announce its final squad and captain. However, Ben Stokes is likely to assume the captaincy for the English team under the coaching of Brendon McCullum. Australia holds the top position in the ICC Test team rankings, while England sits in third place. The rivalry between Australia and England in test cricket is among the oldest and has always provided great entertainment for cricket fans.

The Ashes 2023 Complete Schedule

Here is the updated schedule for the Ashes 2023 series, including the match timings:

MatchDateVenueTiming (GMT)
1stJune 16-20, 2023Edgbaston Cricket Ground10:00 AM
2ndJune 24-28, 2023Lord’s10:00 AM
3rdJuly 6-10, 2023Headingley Cricket Ground10:00 AM
4thJuly 19-23, 2023Old Trafford Cricket Ground10:00 AM
5thJuly 27-31, 2023The Oval10:00 AM

Please note that the timings are mentioned in GMT (Greenwich Mean Time). It’s always recommended to check the official sources or local listings for any potential changes in the timings.

Australian Squad

Certainly! Here is the squad for the Australian team in table format:

BatsmenMarcus Harris
Travis Head
Usman Khawaja
Matt Renshaw
Steven Smith
David Warner
All-RounderMarnus Labuschagne
Mitchell Marsh
Bowling AllrounderCameron Green
Wicket KeeperAlex Carey
Josh Inglis
BowlersPat Cummins (Captain)
Scott Boland
Josh Hazlewood
Nathan Lyon
Todd Murphy
Mitchell Starc


Leave A Reply